Posted by: William | April 28, 2008

80′s Songs of Tomorrow

20 years ago, people were taking some weird things seriously. Music I mean. Like, I Just Died in Your Arms Tonight, by the Cutting Crew, The Boys of Summer by Don Henley or Journey’s Don’t Stop Believing. By today’s standards these all rest as lame relics from a lame period in music history. For me though, these and many, many others from their period are juicy treats of melodious cheese. Seriously, I can’t get enough of the stuff. People make fun of me all the time. Sometimes I might be driving with a new friend or something and my ipod’s shuffling will land on something like How Am I Supposed to Live Without You by Michael Bolton and I happily let it play through enjoying each and every synthesized note. Usually my passenger gaze at me in disbelief. But I can’t help it. I just think the era produced so much cool music. I know it’s cheesy, I know. But I’m alright with that.

Yesterday, I was driving, listening to the radio. That’s not something I normally do. I’m usually listening to a CD, or the ipod or nothing at all. The radio and I just usually don’t really get along. Well, on this occasion, I’d left the ipod at home, the only CD I had was a sermon from church I’d already listened to and frankly, I was getting tired of listening to my own thoughts. That really only leaves one option: the radio.

On the radio, through a poor reception, came Blink 182’s First Date. Easily a high school favorite of mine, although by today’s standards its already starting to show heavy signs of wear and tear. The aging of one of my favorites got me thinking, 20 years from now what will be the morsels of lame music history that I hold on to as nostalgic gems? So, I decided today to present my hypothesized list of 10 songs, in no particular order, that I believe will age well. The songs that will become the 80’s of tomorrow.

  1. All the Small Things by Blink 182
  2. How to Save a Life by The Fray
  3. You’re Beautiful by James Blunt
  4. California by Phantom Planet
  5. At Your Funeral by Saves the Day
  6. Hotel Yorba by the White Stripes
  7. My Love by Justin Timberlake
  8. Somebody Told Me by The Killers
  9. Sweet Escape by Gwen Stefani
  10. Hands Down by Dashboard Confessional

I have to admit, that was more difficult list to compile that I thought it would be and there were some really near misses. I probably could have made that a much longer list, but in the interest of brevity, it’ll stay at 10 for right now. So what are your 80’s songs of tomorrow?

Responses

  1. oh bill, i love the 80′s music. i don’t understand how anyone could refrain from getting excited when those 3 songs u listed came on the radio (don’t stop believing, boys of summer & i just died in your arms tonite) oh man they’re so good, much better than some of the lameness that’s being produced currently. i’m with ya, buddy

  2. Why is every generation interested in 20 year-old music? When I was growing up in the 70′s (gasp) we were enamored with the 50s (Happy Days, Laverne & Shirley, Grease, etc…) Early Elvis, Rick Nelson, Buddy Holly, etc… we had 50′s sock-hops in high school.

    2nd question. on you ipod 80s list do you have U2? They were the band in the 80s.

  3. I might have a few. But really, I’m more into the late eighties stuff, like the heavy synthesizers and stuff; Jefferson Starship style music.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

