Posted by: William | May 14, 2008

Before the Throne of God Above

When does despair set in? When there is no hope. When there is no chance of recovery. When terminal patients are in the hospital, doctors attempt to keep them hopeful for as long as possible or else they may give up fighting their disease and secure their death. Sometimes, it is a daily battle in my walk with the Lord to keep from despair.

I sometimes picture that I am walking through a dark place with Jesus a few steps behind me. As if he was saying, “keep walking, I’m right here,” continually nudging me foreword. But at every step my knees weaken and I become convinced that there’s no way I’ll be able to make the next step and will have to stop walking.

Shane & Shane have a recording of Before the Throne of God Above that is continually used by way of reminder to bring strength to my knees.

Before the throne of God above
I have a strong and perfect plea
A great high Priest who’s name is Love
Who ever lives and pleads for me

My name is graven on His hand
My name is written on His heart
I know that while in heaven He stands
No tongue can bid me thence depart

When satan tempts me to despair
and tells me of the guilt within
upward I look and see Him there
Who made an end of all my sin

Because a sinless Savior died
my sinful soul is counted free
For God the just is satisfied
to look on Him and pardon me

Hallelujah
Praise the One Risen Son of God.

Behold Him there, the risen Lamb
My perfect spotless righteousness
The great unchangeable I AM
The King of Glory and of grace

One in Himself, I cannot die
My soul is purchased by His blood
My life is hid with Christ on high
With Christ my Savior and my God

In the legal court of heaven, I have been declared just. Despair is now a logical and realistic irrationality. It is altogether inconsistent with a situation which is characterized entirely by hope! May the God of all comfort bring strength to the knees of his children.

Responses

  1. absolutely love this song. doing it in a few weeks, can’t wait.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

