Posted by: William | June 4, 2008

"Christian" Dating Site Ad

I was working on some other blogs this afternoon and one of the weirdest, funniest, saddest, most perplexing ads popped up from my own Google Adsense account. Take a gander:

imgad

I’m not even exactly sure where to start here. Am I supposed to be enticed? Offended? Angered?… Aroused? The fact that this ad was even presented holds some evidence of the mounting problem of sexual sin within the church. Look at her face. She’s definitely not saying, “Let’s get really kinky and wait for marriage”. Her expression and body language is clearly a sexual enticement.

“Certified Christian”? I don’t remember getting my certification. “Safe Christian Community”, seriously?

But here’s the kicker, “Christians Join for FREE”. What’s that supposed to mean? Does that mean that there are folks on that website who aren’t Christians, but they made up for it by paying the registration fees? Or does it mean that there’s only Christians but during the sign up process they make sure they get a good look at your membership card. You know, come to think of it, I’m not sure I know where my membership card is.

I make light of it, but there is not business where there isn’t market. This is a reflection of the greater condition of the church and it isn’t too pretty. Let’s pray.

Responses

  1. Just another form of marketing – we Christians are damn good at it….Christ wasn’t – he drove people away after they came to see him.

    Deacon & Usher were here….

  2. sigh…my brother had a similar experience–he (naively) looked up “purity test” online to objectively judge his character… didn’t quite get a multiple choice quiz. :(

    i will be praying along with you for sure! can’t take our eyes off Christ now. 8)

    peace.

  3. The photographer must be that Christian woman’s husband. Yeah, that would explain it.

  4. That ad blows my mind. Definitely need to question things labeled ‘Christian’

  5. I don’t really know what to say. a little sad and a little frustrating.

  6. I wonder how you get certified. Do you have to take a class or something?

    http://mattsplanet.wordpress.com

  7. good good

  8. rae need true love in my life


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

