Posted by: William | December 6, 2007

Out of the Silent Planet

            Unlike many in brothers and sisters, I have never been a reader. In fact, it’s something kind of ironic that I have begun this blog, and posted so consistently. However, this year, the Lord it seems has begun to take me into new (and exciting) directions. He’s given me a new thirst and interest in theological understanding and more specifically reading. It started when I managed to finish my first (non-bible) book Church History in Plain Language by Bruce Shelley. It was an excellent book; it took me eight months to read it. Five-hundred pages is some serious reading; a whole five pages a day, oh the agony. However, it seems as if finishing that book opened some door in my brain and now I can’t seem to stop. I’m addicted to Amazon.com, seriously they make it so easy to drop pennies in the bucket!

            In any case, that’s the back story. Right now in my reading schedule, which for me, time wise is pretty heavy, I daily read from the bible, one or two books on theological-ish topics (starting The Forgotten Spurgeon next, and I’m excited!), and I try to keep my head in some kind of fiction as well. And there it is, the point of this post. Not ten minutes ago, I finished the first installment of the C.S. Lewis Space Trilogy, Out of the Silent Planet.

            Now, I only barely know how to read books, let alone review them. However, I would like to say something about this book. 1.) The book was really entertaining, and 2.) although I was reading fiction, C.S. Lewis seems to have a way of ambushing me with wisdom and truth. If you haven’t read the book, it’s essentially about a guy who is kidnapped and taken to a planet very different from our own, namely in the way that there doesn’t appear to be any kind of sin. It’s a really interesting concept, well executed and it’s left me excited to dive into book two, Perelandra.

            I have to say, I’m afraid of the day when I run out of C.S. Lewis fiction to read. I’m worried there won’t be anything other fish in the sea. Maybe you should give me some suggestions.

Responses

  1. Will you be shopping for fiction or non-fiction after you exhaust Lewis? I could take a while to read all of C. S. Lewis’ works.

  2. It’s the fiction C.S. Lewis work that doesn’t last forever; the I’m pretty sure he’s still writing non-fiction from beyond the grave.

  3. I have read and re-read the Chronicles of Narnia numerous times over the years. They never get old – and now I’m enjoying the anticipation of seeing them on the ‘big screen’.

    (I’m not convinced they’re fiction either; I want to live in Narnia someday!)


Leave a Reply

Categories

