Posted by: William | December 14, 2007

Going to the City is Like Throwing Up

I think going into the city is a little like throwing up. When I was growing up, when I got sick I’d do just about anything to keep from throwing up. I mean, lay perfectly motionless for hours if necessary. I hated so completely the feeling of throwing up. All the muscles in your stomach tensing up and your throat trying to force stuff up that may or may not be there. Frankly, it’s disgusting. I still hate it; although I’m better at feigning a cool temper about it now.

I just returned from driving into the city. I hate the city; I hate the idea of going there. Well today, there was no choice. For some reason, Penn Camera thought that the best place for there rental facility was inside the city, and today it just so happened that I needed to rent something. So, begrudgingly, I got into my car and started out. Interestingly enough, I found that the traffic spots that usually cause hang ups seemed strangely clear. That was nice, I thought to myself, “perhaps I judged too soon.” That was before it took me thirty-five minutes to find a parking space.

I finally found a parking space about ten blocks away that I’m still not even sure was a parking spot. Of course by that time though I was so happy to have found something I accepted the circumstances cheerfully. I squeezed into the spot, climbed out of the car, threw on some tunes via the ipod and started out on my way. Now, it’s completely possible that the feelings that followed were really only in contrast to the boiling rage and frustration that’d consumed me the past thirty-five minutes or maybe the entrancing melodies of Anathallo, but there was a bizarre sense of peace walking down the city street with all of my new stranger friends. Ten blocks went by in no time, and after I’d made my rental there was even a hint of, “Bill, maybe you should find some coffee shop and just hang out for a while.” That voice though, I’m pretty convinced, was just my brain trying to convince me not to rejoin the gigantic metal ant-farm.

Well, appealing to the very least of my expectations, retreating from the city was quite painless. And that’s when it hit me, this incredible spiritual truth that I derived from this adventure. No, I’m just kidding. As I was driving out, I thought to myself that there must be some spiritual lesson that I can learn from all this so that I can write my blog for the day. It didn’t come. But you know what, that’s okay.

Responses

  1. Hmmm, training into the city is probably different. Its like carpooling with 1 or 2 thousand friends. One time though, this guy actually DID throw up in the seat across the aisle from me. People got up and moved away from him while he vomited the entire contents of his stomach into this plastic Safeway lunch bag. I got up and retrieved a roll of TP from the restroom for him. Then I offered him my plastic Super Fresh bag to double bag his vomit.

    He refused! I said, “No, No, please!” He refused again (!!?) and ask how far from the restroom we were. He walked away carrying his breakfast – lunch mixture in the same bag at this point and I prayed to the Father to give that Safeway bag enough strength to make it all the way to the john.

    It held.

    Spiritual lesson: God always provides the sick with a Safeway.

    I’m gettin’ goosebumps.

  2. You’ve done it. You’ve blogged on something that I can finally, emphatically, disagree with you on. My next line of business in prayer now is for reconciliation between you and Mr. Washington.

    Let me leave you with what God thinks on the subject…..(=

    “But seek the welfare of the city where I have sent you into exile, and pray to the LORD on its behalf, for in its welfare you will find your welfare. For thus says the LORD of hosts, the God of Israel.” Jeremiah 29:7-8

  3. Eric: I got goosebumps too.
    Steve: Using biblegateway to look up the word city, definitely doesn’t make it what “God thinks on the subject.”

  4. I’m still trying to figure out why you didn’t go hang at the coffee shop..I keep feeling like you had a ‘divine appointment’ with someone there…but that’s how I am….a divine opportunist… God just uses the errand as a way to set things in motion,to get you moving in thedirection you need to be heading for the more important work to be done….multitask me’lad, multitask!

    in regards to praying for the city
    Actually I forgot to tell you that I had a vision a few weeks ago when I was praying for you..during the peace talks…Actually I didn’t know you well enough to feel comfortable telling you about it…vision was..you were going around to key governmental places and just walking through them praying…sitting on the steps early in the morning and praying until they made you move along..no spectacle you just got up and told them that you were just a concerned American praying for your leaders.


Leave a Reply

Categories

