Posted by: William | December 22, 2007

Love Feast

            Here I am, in my kitchen, making an iced lemon pound cake for dinner tonight. Tonight is the fourth “Agape Meal” that’s been shared at my house in the past several months. They spawned a while back when a good friend of mine had an urge during worship to share a meal together. About eight of us who were worshipping that night selected an evening that we were all free and we made our plans. That first night had an uncanny closeness to it. We each made different parts of the meal, spent some time in worship and prayer and then when we were finished we shared communion. All of us were encouraged and, at least speaking for myself, strengthened in the Lord. As I’ve been working on stuff for the meal tonight, it reminded me of some things that I’d like to share. Sometime in the future I plan to write more, but for now I will share in brief.

            A few months back, before we started having these meals together I had a conversation with a close friend of mine. I was in a rough patch in my life (and faith) and there were a lot of questions I was asking that perhaps didn’t need answers or shouldn’t be answered; questions primarily concerning the body of Christ and disappointments therein. It was at this time that my friend shared a vision that he had for the church; one in which the church would be encouraging. Where we could even meet a complete stranger, but were they in the Lord you would walk away from the conversation encouraged and inspired to press into God. The sad truth is that this just isn’t really the case on a large scale.

            Since that conversation, the scripture seems to just leap off the page at me; word after word after word telling us to be encouraged and to encourage one another. I believe that our primary responsibility to each other is encouragement; to lift up, edify, strengthen, exhort and admonish when necessary. I long for myself to be encouraging, to strengthen my brothers and sisters and I long to receive those things from God through them as well. That is part of the purpose of the Agape Meal; a specific time where we gather with the intention to encourage each other. I pray that as the body we would begin to ask God where it is our selfishness and pride drains us of our ability to be encouraging and that he would begin to correct that in us.

Responses

  1. I can’t wait for the next one.

  2. Thank you for inviting us. The Lemon cake was very good. (I have such a sweet tooth).

  3. […] Check it out! While looking through the blogosphere we stumbled on an interesting post today.Here’s a quick excerptAbout eight of us who were worshipping that night selected an evening that we were all free and we made our plans. That first night had an uncanny closeness to it. We each made different parts of the meal, spent some time in worship and … […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

