Posted by: William | December 30, 2007

My Guilty Music Pleasures: In No Particular Order

Allow me a moment to explain this post. I live in an area that is kind of triangulated by the cities of Washington DC, Annapolis and Baltimore. Because of these cities, almost everyone, it seems, within five or ten years of my age group is hyper-sensitive to the arts; namely media art—music and film. When I was in high school, knowing the strangest bands gave you huge points and watching the most obscure movies could put you on par with the jocks (although, frankly, I’m not even sure my school had those). I mean, the movies didn’t even really have to be good, just obscure. But the inversion of these things, in high school, would be the most important thing to know. If you liked “punk rock” music then Blink 182 had better not be in your CD stack. It was okay to listen to Dashboard Confessional, provided you had a disdain for the tracks with drums in them; but even then, if you didn’t know who Further Seems Forever was, you still had no right. Country music was a complete no-no, and pretty much any kind of pop music was only acceptable if you were replacing various words with “gay” while you sang along. That’s a lot of pressure, you know? And well, perhaps with maturity, or maybe just sheer exhaustion, I eventually gave up. I started listening to what sounded good to me; started watching whatever was entertaining, inspiring or thought provoking.

Still though, there are music groups that I know I probably shouldn’t legitimately like, but the fact of the matter is, I do. These are some of my guilty music pleasures: in no particular order.

The All-American Rejects
Namely the Album Move Along

I’m certain my contemporaries will not agree with me; but scarcely is there a CD that I sing to in my car more unashamedly. The melodies are relentlessly catchy, the guys voice is almost ridiculously appropriate and most importantly, every song transports you to about two minutes and fifty-five seconds of pure fantasy that never asks more from you than to just sing along and pretend your in some stupid music video! YES, actually, I’m going to put that CD on right now.

The Black Eyed Peas
Pump It and Probably some other songs too

I know that the Black Eyed Peas aren’t exactly the epitome of ‘good’ hip-hop. I mean, aside from the song My Humps they really have nothing important to say at all. But gosh, their music makes me feel like I’m in a movie with Jennifer Love-Hewitt, plus the guys have got like, the coolest voices.

Fall Out Boy
Pretty much all of their singles

There are so many haters. But seriously, I contend for how much fun the music is. It doesn’t take itself too seriously and the videos are usually pretty funny. In the world of pop-music, Fall Out Boy fixes all of My Chemical Romance’s problems that keeps me from singing (and dancing) along.

Garth Brooks
All of it

My family took a seven and a half week cross country vacation when I was about twelve on which we only had one tape—Garth Brooks’ greatest hits. I’m not ashamed to say it: I’ve considered a career as a country singer thanks to this brilliant man. Who else can wear that hat and jump around a gigantic stage in front of thousands of people and not look like a total moron? No one! Just Garth.

Good Charlotte
The newer the better

I seriously probably get the most heat for this one. And while I do get kind of tired of hearing them complain about their dad, the melodies and harmonies are so awesomely delicious. They play the part of the clichéd guys your parents don’t want you hanging out with so well, and I must say there’s something cool about some locals making it into an industry that big. Also, with big subwoofers in your car, their music has a fun mix.

Justin Timberlake
waitformaritalsex

Do I really need to explain this one? It’s just awesome.

 

Responses

  1. although I don’t like any of the above music choices…

    I did want to say that I appreciate the honesty.

    and i know exactly what you mean…I gave up trying to be cool with music awhile ago as well.

  2. For me it was Johnny Cash (long before Garth). The original “man in black” who put songs on both country and pop charts. Plus, one of his favorite venues was prison.

  3. i appreciate the honesty too, bill. though i don’t keep a running list, i really like that fergie song that has gunshots or something in the background (i don’t know the name of it) – i heard it in a shoe store the other day, and that store had really sweet shoes in it – i think it was like positive association or something.

    mr. booth: johnny cash is the man. he became a christian later in life, it’s all good.

    i can’t understand a freakin word that fall out boy singer man says.


Leave a Reply

Categories

