Posted by: William | February 2, 2008

Sick as a Dog

Today, I am sick as a dog. I went from last night being relatively okay, with a sore throat. This morning, still ok; by the early afternoon though I had that weird sick feeling in all my limbs. Tired, drained, coughing and coughing some more. After a bowl of chicken soup, I slept for about five hours then woke up to a headache and another sick friend calling to say he was coming over so that we could sit and watch movies and be sick together. That was good, but day has taken a toll on me. I haven’t really been able to read, or spend very much of any time in the Word at all.

My mother on the telephone told me to drink tons of piping hot chicken broth and pump my body full of drugs. I did as my mother directed. It helped; however I’m still disappointed that it felt as if my day was shot.

On the plus side, it has reminded me of the frailty of my body and the weakness of my flesh. It gives me more reason to fear the Lord who does as he pleases (Job 23:13). I can’t make one hair on my head white or black, and I can’t snap my fingers and make me well, nor can I truly defend myself against illness, or death. Ultimately, a good reason to rely on Christ for my sustenance. Of course, in my American condition, that’s a hard concept to really connect to. But it’s times like these that I’m reminded that even though I invincible, I’m certainly not, and even if I don’t feel that I need to rely on the Lord, I must.

Jesus, I pray that you would help me to stand firm in you. I pray that you would help me to be humble in light of my human condition. I have no ability in and of myself and I pray that you would sustain me for you glory.

Leave a Reply

Categories

