Posted by: William | February 14, 2008

Chosen By God

I have just completed my reading of reading R.C. Sproul’s Chosen By God. Before I get into specifics, I would like to say up front that I absolutely loved this book.

From the front cover, it’s not difficult to decipher what this book is about. It’s about predestination. Although the tagline may be a bit cheesy, “Know God’s perfect plan for His glory and His children”; I think it might carry with it some slightly arrogant connotations, however, you won’t find any of those inside.

From the first chapter, Sproul documents, in brief, his own struggle with the biblical doctrine of predestination. In the beginning of the book, Sproul speaks mostly experientially. His own intellectual battle with previously learned doctrines that he was discovering didn’t have nearly as much foundation as he thought. I was concerned in the beginning, he was speaking so much out of his own experiences, there was very little specific reference to scripture. He mostly just talked about ideas and his struggles with them, but didn’t really qualify any of those ideas. I feared the worst. However, from the first chapter filled mostly with experiences, he beautifully builds eight more chapters saturated with scripture.

In another book from Sproul, What Is Reformed Theology (recently reviewed), I had major issues with Sproul’s omission of specific scriptural references for the sake of easy reading. This is in no way the case here.

I’m generally a critical thinker. It’s hard for me to ignore logic (that’s probably a weakness some times). For me, this book fit like a perfect puzzle piece into how I generally receive and interpret information. Sproul builds, very clearly from scripture, a series of powerful and logical arguments. He argues extremely effectively for the reformed view of predestination, but at the same time speaks with a humble attitude that isn’t likely to immediately turn subscribers of other theologies off.

The book is written to be very easily read; just over 200 short pages. It is clearly not written explicitly for the seminary student. While I’m certain most Christians would benefit from reading this literature, Sproul almost certainly had the average reader in mind. He does an excellent job of making the point that predestination is not a theology only for the theologically elite (not a term I’m crazy about) but something that any serious bible believing Christian has to deal with, and how we deal with it bears heavily on how we interact with God and others.

This book makes me want to make up a rating system for my book reviews so that I can give it really high marks. I am recommending this book to anyone who feels they’d like to try some solid food. I give this book 150 points. Also available in store at places like Borders and Barnes & Noble.

Responses

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed the book. When I was researching Calvinism that book helped me out a lot. It put things into simple terms allowing me, a simple lay person, to better understand Calvinist thinking. A little while after I read “Chosen By God” and “The Gospel of John” I became a Calvinist. Reformed Theology seems to have the best grasp on how to interpret the scriptures. If you would like visit my blog at http://www.christianity20.com God Bless

    Rick


Leave a Reply

Categories

