Posted by: William | March 2, 2008

Your Life Hangs on Your Answer

I had something else I wanted to write about today, but decided I’d much rather share this. Today on the Desiring God blog, John Piper posted an extremely brief but truly profound word that everyone, and I mean everyone, must ponder carefully. It may take you a second to grasp what’s being said, but please try. I found myself very convicted and wrestling with the thought much of the morning. Here’s the post:

 

Your life hangs on how you relate these two statements:

 

  1. If anyone sins, we have an advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ, the Righteous” (1 John 2:1).

  2. Sin no more, that nothing worse may happen to you” (John 5:14).

Do you experience the first one weakening the second? Or do you experience the first one joyfully empowering the second? Your life hangs on your answer.

Responses

  1. I love the simplicity of this thought and yet the power in it. It’s very convicting for me because I know that oft times it is the prior of the two relations in my head.


Leave a Reply

Categories

