Posted by: William | April 1, 2008

I’ve Made a Hard Decision

As many of you know, because I wrote before or because you’ve known me over the past few years, one of the things that I’ve struggled with the most is submission to authority. Being able to be told to do something and then just doing it. Well, more recently in my walk with the Lord, it’s something that I’ve really wanted to address. That character issue has really had a lot of adverse effects on my life and my faith.

 

I think that it’s seemingly small character issues like this that at the end of the day keep me from growing in my walk. When I see them and don’t actively attempt to rid myself of them, they stand to keep me from maturing in my faith. So I’ve been in some pretty intense conversations with friends and mentors recently about it. I’d like one day to be a pastor or church planter, but I know that this submission thing is something that I’m really going to have to nail down.

 

So I finished a meeting with a very close friend a few hours ago and following some important council, I made the decision to sign up for the US Army. I signed my papers tonight. I leave for boot camp in July. I think that the highly structured environment will help me to get over my problems with authority. I know that it’s going to be rough, but I think that in the end it’s going to be worth it. Also, getting out of debt is appealing.

 

I’m sure there are going to be a lot of questions and criticisms and some of your might be angry or think I’m being stupid, but I would just like to say, that I think this is the right decision. Those of you who have been encouraging this decision, thank you.

Responses

  1. If you really feel this is the right thing for you to do, God bless.

  2. april fools 🙂

  3. april fools?

  4. I applaud and appreciate your decision, it’s an honorable one in many respects. I looked over some of your photography and a couple of your posts. You have real talent and are on an exciting journey. I hope you have continued opportunities to blog.

  5. Ok… so I read it and then saw Josh’s comment… is it ok to be confused?

  6. Congrats bro! It was one of the best decisions I ever made! What’s your job going to be?

  7. God bless you for doing what you felt led to do. I pray it’s going to be everything you hoped for and more.

  8. I’ve just made it hard.

    http://tonalddrump.wordpress.com/

  9. your evil

  10. Yeah. What he said.


Leave a Reply

Categories

