Posted by: William | April 16, 2008

Embracing Accusation

Consider the lyrics to this Shane & Shane song from their recent album Pages. The song is entitled Embracing Accusation:

Father of lies, coming to steal kill and destroy
All my hopes of being good enough
I hear him saying, cursed are the ones who can´t abide
He´s right, hallelujah, he’s right

The devil is preaching the song of the redeemed
That I am cursed and gone astray
I cannot gain salvation
Embracing accusation

 

Could the father of lies be telling the truth of
God to me tonight?
That if the penalty of sin is death, then death is mine
I hear him saying, cursed are the ones who can´t abide

 

The devil´s singing over me an age old song
That I am cursed and gone astray
Singing the first verse so conveniently over me
He´s forgotten the refrain:


Jesus saves.

 

This song has been a deep encouragement to me and many that I know. I recommend that you listen to the song and ponder it’s meaning. Then, praise God for grace that cannot be shaken so easily as our trust in him is. Praise God that we do not save ourselves, that we were not merely given the tools to do the job, but that Jesus actually saves. This is incredible beyond reason.

 

Praise Jesus for loving me even when I couldn’t love him back. Praise Jesus for loving me when, even if I could, I would not have loved him back. Praise Jesus for coming at just the right time, while I was still a sinner, and dying for me in order to bring me back, perfect, to the father. Besides all of the devils schemes and attempts to accuse me into death, Jesus actually saves. Jesus actually saved me, and in doing so there isn’t anything that the devil, men, angels, me or even God can do to change that. Praise God, praise Jesus, praise the Holy Spirit.

Leave a Reply

Categories

